Author Topic: "Shift required too big"  (Read 617 times)

Mike

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
"Shift required too big"
« on: May 08, 2018, 12:10:27 PM »
Has anyone found a workaround for situations where RV place complains that corrections are too big so it refuses to place - having problems with large parts from passive feeders where pic location is a little inprecise.
I'd rather not use "no correction" as it won't detect mis-picks
I can't any obvious limit values anywhere
 

phonoplug

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
Re: "Shift required too big"
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2018, 11:03:53 PM »
Try increasing the 'pick tolerance' value in the CDF for the part? If its a physically large part you might want to increase it to something like 150 or 200 - even more if you have locked X and/or Y so that it doesn't pick in the center of the part.

Mike

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
Re: "Shift required too big"
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2018, 12:21:00 AM »
Thanks - I'm sure I've seen that setting plenty of times and not noticed or thought what it was for!
Too buried in the hassle of getting the job done to have realised that it would be a per-part setting in the cdf and not global!

phonoplug

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
Re: "Shift required too big"
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2018, 09:26:14 AM »
Increasing it will mean (assuming its already taking 4 shots of the part) the distance between centres of the 4 image points will increase. If its currently only doing one shot it will probably push it over the edge to doing 4.

Mike

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
Re: "Shift required too big"
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2018, 05:39:26 PM »
That's useful to know as well - ISTR having some issues  where I wanted to force it to do multiple images as there was a problem with field of view for a single image.